Aches

I have a lot of control over my thoughts, you know
But they get short-circuited once in a while
Of their own accord
Sometimes they know better than I do
And wander back to you

I crossed over to the other side
And I don’t look back, but I do beside
Almost expecting to find
What I’m hoping to see

I don’t need to see to believe
But reassurance is hard to come by
And the moon only hangs
Above both of us for so long

Anything I knew
I’ve put it aside
Tucked inside the walls of the carving
You told me about

Maybe I’ll know someday
Maybe I won’t
I think it would be nice, though
If you’d safeguard our marks.

Leave a Reply

